Engineering Group

Geological Society

"Engineering Geology is the science devoted to the investigation, study and solution of the engineering and environmental problems which may arise as the result of the interaction between geology and the works and activities of man as well as to the prediction and of the development of measures for prevention or remediation of geological hazards." (IAEG statutes, 1992).

Established in 1963




Rudolph Glossop (1902 - 1993) is credited with bringing together academics and practitioners in engineering geology in the UK; he was involved in setting up the Engineering Group in 1964 and, in 1966, the Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology, having previously also help set up the Geotechnical Society and the journal Geotechnique in 1948.


Glossop was the eighth Rankine Lecturer in 1967; he was also Chairman of the Engineering Group (1965-68) and Vice President of the Geological Society (1969). Glossop’s contribution to engineering geology is recognised by the Engineering Group of the Geological Society through the prestigious Glossop Lecture and Glossop Award, established in 1997.


Glossop Lecture


The Glossop Lecture was initiated as the most prestigious lecture of the Engineering Group of the Geological Society, to be presented by an invited eminent engineering geologist. The requirement for the presentation is that it should highlight the contribution made in the application of engineering geology to civil engineering. This may be achieved by utilizing a subject that illustrates a particular expertise or summarizes a significant contribution to the science by the invitee. The Glossop Medal Nomination Guidance Notes outline the process and requirements for nominating someone for the Glossop Medal Lecture.


Nominations are now accepted for the Glossop Lecture and Medal from Academia and Professional practice for candidates who are:


considered technical experts in their field of Engineering Geology;

are actively engaged with the Engineering Geology community; and

have made a significant contribution to advancing the cause and science of Engineering Geology.


Candidates are likely to be a 'senior' academic or industry figure with greater than 30 years' experience, although nominations will be considered for candidates with less experience who can demonstrate their credentials in the above criteria.


The Glossop Medal Nomination Guidance Notes linked outline the process and requirements for nomiating someone for the Glossop Medal Lecture.



Previous Winners of the Glossop Medal


(With link to video of lecture and paper)


1st Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor Peter Fookes (1997) Geology for Engineers: the Geological Model, Prediction and Performance


2nd Glossop Medal Lecture: Dr Evert Hoek (1998) Putting numbers to geology – an engineer’s viewpoint


3rd Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor Richard Chandler (1999) Clay Sediments in Depositional Basins: the Geotechnical Cycle


4th Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor John Hutchinson (2000) Reading the Ground: Morphology and Geology in Site Appraisal


5th Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor Denys Brunsden (2001) Geomorphological roulette for engineers and planners: some insights into an old game


6th Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor Paul Marinos (2002) Ongoing challenges in engineering geology for tunnelling in difficult ground


7th Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor Martin Culshaw (2004) From concept towards reality: developing the attributed 3D geological model of the shallow subsurface


8th Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor Robin Fell (2006) Rapid Landslides: the importance of understanding mechanisms and rupture surface mechanics


9th Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor Mike de Freitas (2008) Geology; its principles, practice and potential for Geotechnics


10th Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor Paul Nathanail (2009) Engineering geology of sustainable risk based land quality management


11th Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor Rory N. Mortimore (2010) Making sense of chalk: A total rock approach in Engineering Geology


12th Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor Edward N. Bromhead (2011) Reflections on the residual strength of clays with special reference to bedding-controlled landslides


13th Glossop Medal Lecture by Ruth Allington (2012) Engineering geology and geomorphology in the design, operation and rehabilitation of quarries: forms and processes, models and cycles, roles and responsibilities


14th Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor Jim Griffiths (2013) Feet on the Ground - Engineering Geology, Past, Present and Future


15th Glossop Medal Lecture: Mike Sweeney (2014) Terrain and Geohazard Challenges for Onshore Pipelines in Remote Regions


16th Glossop Medal Lecture: Tony Waltham (2015) Control the Drainage: The Gospel Accorded to Sinkholes


17th Glossop Medal Lecture: Professor David Norbury (2016) Standards and Quality in Ground Investigation – squaring the circle


18th Glossop Medal lecture: Dr Jackie Skipper (2017) Variability and ground hazards: how does the ground get to be unexpected?


19th Glossop Medal lecture: Dr Kevin Privett (2018) The lines of evidence approach to challenges faced in engineering geological practice

Contact Information

Phone:  +44 (0)20 7434 9944


Address:  The Geological Society, Burlington House,

Piccadilly, London W1J 0BG